Almond Butter Cookies

Almond Butter Cookies

I recently told my two best friends that sugar was also one of my best friends…much to their dismay. But I really do love sweets – and – since I know that, I still eat dessert every day…with a catch. I try to find lower calorie, healthy, homemade options for my desserts (and I let myself go a little crazier on the weekends).

One of my staples has been this Almond Butter Cookie recipe I found on Civilized Caveman’s site. These are very easy, simple to make cookies – and – you can easily swap the banana for about 1 cup of canned pumpkin puree if you want to make these more “festive” during the fall. I haven’t tried using applesauce or other thick purees, but I imagine those would work well, too!

Of course, I jazz this recipe up with other spices and ingredients, depending on my mood. I usually add extra nuts and a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg for extra flavor. These cookies don’t spread out when baking, so it’s important that you make the cookies all the same size (about three tablespoons / a little less than 1/4 a cup) – and – that you spread these out using a spoon. You may need to bake these a little longer – just lightly tap the top of the cookie to make sure it isn’t mushy.

Save this recipe

» Civilized Caveman
» Add to Your ZipList.

Leave a Reply

