Creamy Chicken Tomato Soup

Creamy Chicken Tomato Soup - UncookedIt’s been cold in Ohio. I mean…really cold. I know I should be used to the cold, living in the Midwest my entire life, but I’m not too keen on being chilled to the bone. So – that means it’s time for soup! I haven’t been too adventurous with my soup selections since adapting a Paleo diet lifestyle, so I decided to find something a little more unique. That’s when I stumbled upon River North Paleo Girl’s “Creamy” Crockpot Chicken and Tomato Soup. This involved using Coconut milk, which I haven’t really played around with much at all.

Creamy Chicken Tomato Soup - CookedI made some modifications, so I’ve included my version of the recipe below. I decided to do one can of full fat coconut milk – and – one can of “lite” coconut milk. I didn’t make this change because I was just “worried” about the extra calories / fat, but I simply wasn’t sure how my stomach would react to two cans of the full fat milk. Overall, my tastebuds and my stomach seemed to love it! I also changed the amount of chicken to 6 chicken breasts since I planned on making 6 individual servings out of this. It held up very well in the freezer and reheated wonderfully!

A few other changes and tweaks I made that I didn’t include on my version of the recipe: I doubled the spices, added a little heat with some cayenne pepper (about 1 teaspoon), threw in a package of mushrooms and some diced bell peppers that I wanted to use up before they went bad. These were great little additions, so you might want to try tweaking this to fit your needs! Also, one of my best friends, Alisa, stopped me from pulling the chicken out of the crockpot to shred it…not sure why I thought you had to take it out – then shred – then put back in, but there’s no need! Just take two forks and go to town in the crockpot!

Save this recipe

» PDF
» Add to Your ZipList

Leave a Reply

